Tags

, , ,

One of my good friends posted the quote, “Opportunity doesn’t knock. It presents itself when you beat down the door.” Bill Cosby said this, and he couldn’t have been more right.

I am currently in the job search process, scouring potential employers’ company websites and tailoring cover letters and my resume like crazy. And you know what the worst part of the job hunt is? It’s the waiting part. The awful waiting game you play after submitting an application for the job you really, really want. So don’t wait.

I like to think of it as taking a drive out on the highway; it’s a wonderful thing and the best part about is not stopping, just enjoying the open road. This is the most positive metaphor I can come up with to describe the sometimes (even often) frustrating process of pursuing your dreams.

One thing I know that I didn’t used to: I’m not going to get my dream job right off the bat. I’m not going to graduate college as a published and highly-acclaimed novelist; and I’m okay with that. Thank God. Because if I wasn’t, I’d be setting myself up for failure and disappointment right from the get-go. I am probably going to start off in some publishing firm (hopefully), and have my nose stuck in a million manuscripts (hyperbolically speaking, of course).

I digress. Anyways, the most important thing is to keep knocking on the door, and not only that, but on the right ones, until one of two things happens: 1) someone opens the door or 2) you bang that door down and walk right in. And keep your head up while you do it.

Best,

Julie Query

