Tags

, ,

Fear not readers, I’m not going to destroy the potentially amazing novel I’m working on right now. However, I do have to say, it got shredded (figuratively speaking) at workshop a few nights ago, and it is now time for an intensive rework. As a writer, there are always going to be flaws that I don’t see until someone else points them out to me, but man, was it rough. It’s really hard to put your work (seemingly an extension of yourself) out there and just watch it get torn to bits. I was really upset right after, but over the last couple of days I have become very appreciative of what happened. Rejection is always going to be a part of writing, but at this level of the creative process, it gives me a chance to make my work many times better, and potentially good enough to outdo all those other manuscripts sitting on an editor’s desk.

I’m starting over, in a sort. I have a blank Word doc in front of me, and my printed manuscript by my side. Retyping it gets in an automatic rewrite, and gives me a chance to break it down by every single sentence. I guess I’m going to do my own form of shredding, so to speak.

I’d say the most important thing to take from this is that even if you’re sensitive, suck it up. Because if you do, you could get published. At least, that’s my hope. I think it applies to whatever profession you want though; you just have to want it enough to do something about it. Something radical. Like getting shredded to get better.

Julie out.

