Tags

, ,

It’s a Monday morning, and I need to get writing done. Some days, it’s really hard to get it done. Some days I don’t write at all. But I always find myself being drawn back to the page, whether it’s to read something someone else has written or to fill up the blank sheet of paper in front of me. There is nothing as intimidating as that blank space. But once I get started, even if it’s terrible, at least I have made something from myself, and I can be proud of that. Sometimes I’ll write at 1,000 words per hour, and those are great days. That’s a goal I usually keep in mind, because without a goal, I’ll never reach anything at all. Even my job in commission-based retail has taught me that. You have to have a goal to make something great. And it doesn’t have to be great to start off with, but it does have to exist in the first place to make it to anywhere at all. One of my favorite quotes is attributed to Les Brown, who said, “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.”

